Canyons District's COVID-19 Action Plan, Updates | Read More >

Eastmont Virtual Learning Fridays

Starting Friday, October 9th, Fridays will be Virtual Learning Days. There will be no in person instruction for students on Fridays.  Friday coursework will be virtual through Canvas.

What do we mean by a Virtual Learning Friday? 

Friday is a day of learning.  Teachers are expected to have a Canvas Module and assigned learning task for students to complete during the day.  Assignments will be given for each class and should be completed for credit by Sunday evening.  We suggest working together with your child and setting a Friday schedule.  Setting schedules and daily routines can be extremely helpful in completing assigned learning tasks efficiently.  Below is a sample student schedule that could be used (or modified) to help your children get the most out of each Virtual Learning Friday.  This is a sample schedule, and could be modified for your needs.

 

9:00 ELA
9:30 Math
10:00 Elective A
10:30 Break/Stretch/Snack
10:45 Science
11:15 Social Studies
11:45  Elective B
Noon Lunch
12:30 PE or other elective

 

Students are expected to check in to each class’s Canvas course, review any announcements, and complete the assigned learning tasks.

All Classes will post learning tasks/assignments that are expected to take students 20-30 minutes to complete.  If the work is taking longer than that, please communicate with your teacher.  Planning for activities virtually instead of in class takes time to figure out.

Communication:  All classes use Canvas.  This is not a new platform for students.  Students are already using Canvas daily in most of their classes.  Information about the assigned Friday learning tasks will be posted in individual Canvas courses.

Teacher Office Hours on Friday:  All teachers will have office hours on Fridays from 9:15 – 11:15.  These hours will be scheduled school wide.  During teacher office hours, teachers will be communicating with students and parents and supporting the learning of students through phone calls, emails, and/or Google Meets. A phone list is attached to the back of this page.

Attendance: To complete attendance, there will be a link on your home page of Canvas.  You will only need to complete this one time on a Friday.

TEACHERS CONTACT INFORMATION
PHONE NAME Email
801-826-7061 Alger, Anna anna.alger@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7056 Batty, Jessica jessica.batty@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7076 Campos, Mike mike.campos@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7017 Curtis, Randy randall.curtis@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7027 Davis, Stephanie stephanie.davis@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7021 Digerness, River river.digerness@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7033 Fullmer, Russ Russell.fullmer@canyonsdstrict.org
801-826-7057 Fuqua, Arianne arianne.fuqua@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7041 Greene, Ethan ethan.greene@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7032 Greeno, Jeannine jeannine.greeno@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7048 Gregson, Marc marc.gregson@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7013 Hansen, Taylor taylor.hansen@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7029 Heath, Robin robin.heath@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7034 Jensen, Corey corey.jensen@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7001 Kurtzhals, Stacy stacy.kurtzhals@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7055 Law, Michele michele.law@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7046 Martin, Lynne lynne.martin@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7043 Mellor, Richard richard.mellor@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7025 Mickelsen, Lynette lynette.mickelsen@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7016 Miller, Mindy melinda.miller@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7031 Moss, Emma emma.moss@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7058 Munoz, Andrew andrew.munoz@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7062 Quinonez, Melissa melissa.quinones@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7012 Rauzon, Brooke brooke.rauzon@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7023 Reavy, Heather heather.reavy@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7047 Reimann, Josh joshua.reimann@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7024 Schott, Stephanie stephanie.schott@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7038 Seipel, Ben benjamin.seipel@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7074 Severn, Malinda malinda.severn@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7068 Shenosky, Diane diane.shenosky@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7040 Shurtz, Melanie melanie.shurtz@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7042 Snow, Mark mark.snow@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7054 Stefanic, John john.stefanic@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7022 Taucher, Julie julie.taucher@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7030 Turley, Kayla kayla.turley@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7059 VanDyken, Nic nicolaas.vandyken@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7044 Wagner, Daren daren.wagner@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7037 Watts, Shannon shannon.watts@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7052 West, Cody cody.west@canyonsdistrict.org
801-826-7073 Zordan, Whitney whitney.zordan@canyonsdistrict.org

Eastmont Middle’s Moss Named Runner-up in Utah Teacher of the Year Contest

Shortly after Emma Moss found out Thursday, Oct. 1 that the Utah State Board of Education named her as a runner-up for the 2021 Utah Teacher of the Year award, she had one of those days that is sure to rank as a highlight of her career.

Since Moss was named as the 2020 Canyons Teacher of the Year in April, her students have been anxiously waiting to hear if she would be chosen as a statewide winner. On Thursday, they received the news with cheers and applause — and a tender exchange.

“It was a great moment today,” Moss said. “One of the students said, ‘This is so great, it means I get to sit with the greatest teacher,’ and I said, ‘And I get to sit with the greatest students.’ It was a really good day to hear them say that and to be able to say that back to them.”

Continue reading

Apply Online for CSD’s Popular and Growing Dual-Language Immersion Programs

Now there are more opportunities than ever for Canyons District students to become fluent in two languages.

Two Spanish Dual Language Immersion programs have been added to the mix of Spanish, French and Mandarin Chinese programs already offered by the District, which should help meet growing demand for this popular educational opportunity.

The start of October signals the opening of the window to apply for CSD’s Dual Language Immersion Programs for the 2021-2022 school year. Parents and guardians can apply online anytime from Monday, Oct. 5 to Wednesday, Nov. 25.

In addition, families interested in learning about these programs are invited to a virtual Orientation Night on Tuesday, Oct. 22, 6:30-8 p.m. To join the orientation, click here and enter the meeting ID 861 2733 3185 and the passcode 201030.

Continue reading

Translate »